Northern Sage Posted September 8, 2012 Report Share Posted September 8, 2012 I Normal Summon Tsukuyomi and flip it face-down with it's own effect. Will it return during the End Phase or not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 8, 2012 Report Share Posted September 8, 2012 What if I tribute Armory Arm? Does it gain the complete effect? If you copied Armory Arm, you'd be able to activate and equip The Tyrant Neptune to a monster, but The Tyrant Neptune will be destroyed once it does as it would no longer have the effect of the Armory Arm it copied when it becomes an Equip Spell. When a monster becomes an Equip Spell Card, only its real printed effects that the card says it applies while equipped will ever be applied. The Tyrant Neptune has no effects on its own for being equipped, so once equipped, there's no effect binding The Tyrant Neptune to the monster and it destroys itself. I Normal Summon Tsukuyomi and flip it face-down with it's own effect. Will it return during the End Phase or not? The effect which returns it to the hand is a Trigger Effect, not a condition. You can't activate the effects of a face-down monster, so the answer is no. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted September 8, 2012 Report Share Posted September 8, 2012 Of course. What's stopping you from activating a monster's Igintion Effect a second time if it was set and flipped face-up? Unless it specifically refers to itself in its own effect (such as "You can only activate this effect once per turn" or "You can only activate the effect of <Monster Name> once per turn"), the "Once per turn" at the beginning of an effect applies only as long as the monster is face-up on the field. If its face-down or removed from the field and later returned to a face-up position on the field, you can use the effect again.Sorry about this, but aren't all the "You can flip this monster face-down" effects only once per turn even if flipped? I remember something about Stealth Bird being like that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 8, 2012 Report Share Posted September 8, 2012 Sorry about this, but aren't all the "You can flip this monster face-down" effects only once per turn even if flipped? I remember something about Stealth Bird being like that. Nothing of the sort. If Stealth Bird used its effect to set it, and then was flipped back up, then it can activate its effect again. If you've performed a manual battle position change to Flip Summon it, then obviously you can't Flip Summon it again the same turn. You can always use its effect to flip it face-down after it had been flipped face-up. You can use an infinite amount of effects per turn to change a monster's position. You are only allowed one manual position change without an effect. If a monster is flipped face-down, the field has no idea what that monster is. When flipped back up, it is considered to be an entirely new Stealth Bird (or other monster), different than the one that was face-up before. Go with what you know about the different types of effects already, not going by what the effect does. The effect which flips it face-down is an Ignition Effect. In the same scenario, with any other monster that has an Ignition Effect like that, it will work (Chaos Sorcerer, Snipe Hunter, etc). It is not different with these monsters. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Low_Profile Posted September 9, 2012 Report Share Posted September 9, 2012 in relation to my earlier post, a new idea just occurred to me: what if Tsukuyomi and Mysterious Puppeteer were on the field at the same time, with Tsukuyomi face-down, and Ultimate Offering was active? could you continue paying Life Points to allow you to Flip Summon Tsukuyomi multiple times? Mysterious Pupeteer's effect would counteract this, but if there was also a second Mysterious Puppeteer, wouldn't that theortetically allow you to keep Flip Summoning Tsukuyomi for more Life Points? if not that, then (just out of curiosity) is there any monster (or spell or trap) that allows it to be returned to your hand "once per turn", so that you can keep on summoning it with Ultimate Offering? (the idea is that, if the monster were returned to your hand, could you re-summon it and use its "once per turn" effect again? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 9, 2012 Report Share Posted September 9, 2012 in relation to my earlier post, a new idea just occurred to me: what if Tsukuyomi and Mysterious Puppeteer were on the field at the same time, with Tsukuyomi face-down, and Ultimate Offering was active? could you continue paying Life Points to allow you to Flip Summon Tsukuyomi multiple times? Mysterious Pupeteer's effect would counteract this, but if there was also a second Mysterious Puppeteer, wouldn't that theortetically allow you to keep Flip Summoning Tsukuyomi for more Life Points? if not that, then (just out of curiosity) is there any monster (or spell or trap) that allows it to be returned to your hand "once per turn", so that you can keep on summoning it with Ultimate Offering? (the idea is that, if the monster were returned to your hand, could you re-summon it and use its "once per turn" effect again? Ultimate Offering allows you an additional Normal Summon or Normal Set. A Flip Summon is not a Normal Summon. Even so, you are already allowed an infinite number of Flip Summons per turn. You would need something that allowed you to perform more than one manual position change of the same card in a turn, which such a card does not exist. If you want a monster that does that, then you'll want to use Honest. Its first effect does exactly that. Two Mysterious Puppeteers, an Honest, and an Ultimate Offering would keep you profiting Life Points per loop, but then you could just as easily replace one of those Mysterious Puppeteers with Fire Princess and burn them to death, but even then its even easier to just do that with Honest and Athena with Ultimate Offering. Either way, if its just Life Points you want, I suppose Honest is your best bet with the combo you wanted to do. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunshine Jesse Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 What exactly happens if a Field Spell card (or any Continuous card for that matter) is negated by LaDD, given it doesn't destroy? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Griffin Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 What exactly happens if a Field Spell card (or any Continuous card for that matter) is negated by LaDD, given it doesn't destroy? Because it negates activation, I imagine it is sent to the Graveyard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Because it negates activation, I imagine it is sent to the Graveyard.The ruling is that continuous cards are sent to the Graveyard, though intuitively they wouldn't. I guess it's for the sake of simplicity, and not making LaDD a field clutter card. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 What exactly happens if a Field Spell card (or any Continuous card for that matter) is negated by LaDD, given it doesn't destroy? They are sent to the Graveyard. They are not destroyed, but cannot exist on the field since the activation of the card was negated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 Is it true that the TCG and OCG rulings are different for the following: A Flip Effect monster is attacked by a monster whose effect negates the effect of a monster destroyed by battle? Or that a monster card is not considered face-up when it is attacked face-down for the basis of card effects like Verdant Sanctuary? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 If you draw your last Exodia piece with DW Dealings but the only other cards in your hand are pieces do you still win before you're made to discard one? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 If you draw your last Exodia piece with DW Dealings but the only other cards in your hand are pieces do you still win before you're made to discard one?No. The gamestate doesn't check for win conditions until the effect has resolved. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 About Picking up cards and discarding:If my opponent discards a Grapha by the effect of my "Morphing Jar #2", does Grapha activate its both effects? Altough "Morphing Jar #2" states that all Level 5+ monsters are discarded, at the same time you are picking up cards, not drawing them or adding them to the hand, so I am not sure if this mechanic doesn't fulfill "Dark Worlds" (or "Fableds") activation conditions. For instance, If I am not mistaken, the "pick-up, then discard" effect is essentially sending the card from the Deck to the Graveyard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 About Picking up cards and discarding:If my opponent discards a Grapha by the effect of my "Morphing Jar #2", does Grapha activate its both effects? Altough "Morphing Jar #2" states that all Level 5+ monsters are discarded, at the same time you are picking up cards, not drawing them or adding them to the hand, so I am not sure if this mechanic doesn't fulfill "Dark Worlds" (or "Fableds") activation conditions. For instance, If I am not mistaken, the "pick-up, then discard" effect is essentially sending the card from the Deck to the Graveyard.1. You cannot discard from the Deck.2. No Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwarven King Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 What exactly happens if a Field Spell card (or any Continuous card for that matter) is negated by LaDD, given it doesn't destroy? Even though LaDD doesn't say destroy, he still says negate. So the Field/Continuous Spell that was activated and negated goes to the graveyard. Is it true that the TCG and OCG rulings are different for the following: A Flip Effect monster is attacked by a monster whose effect negates the effect of a monster destroyed by battle? Or that a monster card is not considered face-up when it is attacked face-down for the basis of card effects like Verdant Sanctuary? I'm not sure that I understand the question. :( Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aerion Brightflame Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 If you have two copies of Machina Fortress in your hand, can you discard both at the same time to special summon both of them? My head tells me no, becuase you have to discard one to summon the first before you summon the second. But someone did it to me the other day, and i had no way of proving it wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 If you have two copies of Machina Fortress in your hand, can you discard both at the same time to special summon both of them? My head tells me no, becuase you have to discard one to summon the first before you summon the second. But someone did it to me the other day, and i had no way of proving it wrong.No. You're activating the effect of one of the Machina Fortresses. By sending it, you're activating the effect of it. After its sent, you'll summon one. You can't activate both of their effects at the same time. It's a cost, not a condition. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingdom Xathers Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 If Silver Sentinel is destroyed during the End Phase, can his effect still be activated, or must it be destroyed before the End Phase? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 I assume it's the same ruling as Zenmaines, so yes you can. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 No. You're activating the effect of one of the Machina Fortresses. By sending it, you're activating the effect of it. After its sent, you'll summon one. You can't activate both of their effects at the same time. It's a cost, not a condition.You're not activating anything really. It's a condition.Still applies though. You can't pay 1 cost for multiple cards, condition or effect or otherwise.If Silver Sentinel is destroyed during the End Phase, can his effect still be activated, or must it be destroyed before the End Phase?It still works. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 You're not activating anything really. It's a condition.Still applies though. You can't pay 1 cost for multiple cards, condition or effect or otherwise.I blame LPD for never working the way I want it to. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ranma 1/2 Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 Does Penguin Knight's effect work if you swap your deck with your graveyard via Exchange of Spirit? I'm kinda herpderping right now. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 Does Penguin Knight's effect work if you swap your deck with your graveyard via Exchange of Spirit? I'm kinda herpderping right now. Well, the card says swap. It doesn't send cards from the Deck to the Graveyard and doesn't return cards from the Graveyard to the Deck. No, It should not activate its effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 Darkwolf, I completely trust your ruling on the effects of monsters who flip themselves face-down with their own effects, but someone I know has been saying that they can only be used once per turn regardless due to a special ruling. They have yet to show me this ruling, but I have also been incapable of finding a counter-ruling to prove them wrong. Do you possibly know where I could find the ruling for evidence? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.