Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Priority is the ability to activate card effects before your opponent.

Turn player always retains priority after a move or to start a chain.

Let's say it's my turn:

It's my Draw Phase. I draw a card. I now retain priority to use any Spell Speed 2 card effect. I can use an MST in my hand or a Trap I currently have on the field. If I do not do anything, I pass priority to my opponent to activate his own Spell Speed 2 card. If neither of us do anything, we move to the Standby Phase.

If my opponent decided to activate Trap Dustshoot though, priority gets passed to me to chain my own card effect in response to Dustshoot. I choose to do nothing, so the chain resolves. Afterwards, priority is once again passed to me as the turn player to activate a Spell Speed 2 card effect. Phases do not change until both players agree on it.

During the Main Phase, I as the turn player can also activate Spell Speed 1 effects. It works the same way only I cannot activate them in response to an action or as a chain.

In the TCG however, a Spell Speed 1 monster ignition effect (under the turn player's control) can be used in response to the summon of a monster. This ruling is special and what most people hate.

For example, I summon BLS. I can now use it's banishing effect in response to it's own summon, or pass priority to my opponent (this is assuming the summon wasn't negated by T-King or Solemn of course). If I decide not to, then the opponent can use his Bottomless Trap Hole to banish my BLS.

Take note that at this time I cannot go back and say "Owait I wanted to use priority". This is one of the thing that people don't get, there are no redos, and you have to let your opponent claim whether they retain priority or not. This is generally the biggest problem with it.

 

NOTE: You cannot just activate a bunch of cards in a chain ignoring your opponent. Once you activate a card your opponent now gets a chance to respond, if they don'w you may respond to your own activation. If they do you have to respond to their activation.

So say i summon sirocco the dawn, my opponent can solemn it without me giving them priority, but they cant bottomless it until i give it to them, right?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My attempt to Special Summon is somehow stopped. Can I still use Card-car's effect or is it nulled since I still made an attempt?

 

If a card's effect was negated that would special summon, but nothing ever reached the field, then yes you can use Card Car D.

 

If a monster was special summoned through an inherent effect, Synchro or Xyz, and was then negated, you cannot use Card Car D.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

'Quillbolt Hedgehog''s effect allows you to Special Summon it from the Graveyard if you control a Tuner. If a 'Quillbolt Hedgehog' you already control is being treated as a Tuner, then you can use the effect of a 'Quillbolt Hedgehog' in the Graveyard.

 

If, somehow a 'Quillbolt Hedgehog' in the Graveyard is being treated as a Tuner, and you control no face-up Tuners, then you cannot activate the effect of that 'Quillbolt Hedgehog'.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So say i summon sirocco the dawn, my opponent can solemn it without me giving them priority, but they cant bottomless it until i give it to them, right?

No, you still retain priority to activate the effect of a card with the timing "when a monster's summon is attempted". You can negate your own summon if you wish.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

D-Fissure and Macro work the same way. If a card would be sent to the Graveyard, it is banished "instead". It doesn't go to the Graveyard and then get banished.

 

I didn't think so. Someone told me at locals last night that Macro is different from D-Fissure in that way, but I knew I was right.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does "Amazoness Village" effect misses the timing to Special Summon new Amazonnes if the last thing to happen is not destroying Amazoness monster?

 

 

"Once per turn, when an "Amazoness" monster is destroyed by battle or by a card effect, and is sent to the Graveyard, you can Special Summon 1 "Amazoness" monster from your Deck with a Level equal to or lower than that of the destroyed "Amazoness"."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Inzektor Hopper's effect says that only the monster it was equipped to can attack directly when it's sent to the Graveyard by its own effect; with that said, can I use Hopper's effect multiple times in the same turn to send it, regardless of whether or not the others can attack?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Inzektor Hopper's effect says that only the monster it was equipped to can attack directly when it's sent to the Graveyard by its own effect; with that said, can I use Hopper's effect multiple times in the same turn to send it, regardless of whether or not the others can attack?

 

Unless it specifically states you cannot use the effect of "Inzektor Hopper" then you can use it as many times as you can equip it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...