Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can I loop Brionac with let's say Treasure Map? If so, does the discard from treasure count as a cost or effect?

 

Chain Link 1: Brionac Effect Activates by discarding one card targeting your set Treasure Map

Chain Link 2: Treasure Map is chained.

Chain Link 2 Resolves: Treasure Map's effect - Draw 2, then discard 1.

Chain Link 1 resolves: Treasure Map is resolved by this point and is sent to the Graveyard instead of returning to the hand by Brionac's effect.

 

The Discard from Treasure Map is ALWAYS an effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can I loop Brionac with let's say Treasure Map? If so, does the discard from treasure count as a cost or effect?

Discarding for map is part of the effect and is not a cost.

 

CL1: Brio targetting map

CL2: Map

 

Resolve:

-You draw 2 then discard one for map.

-Map cannot be returned to hand by brionac's effect since it is resolving and a card cannot be bounced to hand mid resolution.

 

Then map goes to the graveyard after the chain ends.

 

...Dang ninja.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

All right, then what if I chained Custom to Full House?

 

That depends if it follows "Offering to the Snake Deity's" effect where the targeted cards must not only stay their legal targets, but must be capable of destruction.

 

It doesn't follow the Problem-Solving Card Text, so you can't really tell by the text.

 

I'll assume that it doesn't, otherwise, this would be a terrible gamble added on to its situational conditions.

 

Assuming that it doesn't, then yes, you could chain Imperial Custom to Full House and those cards would not be destroyed, but the remaining 3 cards that were targeted would.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is it possible to treat "7 Colored Fish" and/or "7 Completed" for this card's effect?

Descriptions seem to assume it needs to be 3 copies of this exact card only, but the wording says 3 "7" cards.

 

300px-7DR2-EN-C-UE.jpg

By this wording, yes, as they are all "7" CARDS. Though I'm sure you'll find some judge that disagrees.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you chain Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode's effect to the activation of a Continuous card?

OR the activation of its effect which starts a chain?

OR both?

They ruled that recently it can, unfortunately.

 

Like Royal Oppression. Yup, it can negate it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you chain Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode's effect to the activation of a Continuous card?

OR the activation of its effect which starts a chain?

OR both?

 

Based on wording, it can only chain to the activation of CARDS (or Effect Monster effects).

 

So yes and no, respectively.

 

Stardust original can chain to the activation of effects, though.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based on wording, it can only chain to the activation of CARDS (or Effect Monster effects).

 

So yes and no, respectively.

 

Stardust original can chain to the activation of effects, though.

Are the wordings on how they negate different?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I see no difference, and I have both cards in front of my face.

 

EDIT: They gave Stardust an errata since my Gold Rare was made, but seeing as they are basically the same card, and were worded the exact same way previously, would it be a stretch to say that SD/AM can?

 

I'm fairly sure they won't be reprinting it any time soon for an errata.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Unless Assault Mode was errata'd recently that I dont know of. Stardust has been errata'd lately with Problem-Solving Card Text, plus has a huge number of rulings.

 

Stardust Dragon (normal): "When a Spell, Trap, Spell/Trap effect, or Effect Monster's effect is activated that destroys card(s) on the Field: You can Tribute this card; negate the activation and destroy it."

 

Stardust/Assault: "You can Tribute this card to negate the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card or Effect Monster's Effect"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not quite. Stardust was always being ruled it could stop Continuous effects that activate (Oppression, Blaze Accelerator, etc). I dont see any sign in terms of ruling that Assault Mode does the same, so while Stardust was errata'd to clarify, Assault Mode's text still indicates it cannot do the same.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...