Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If YGOPro is anything to go by, yes. It doesn't say "your opponent detaches 1 material", it says "detach 1 material". However, it doesn't "target" the material, so upon resolution you get to decide.

I got a further question to that, does your opponent's effect take place if possible?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I got a further question to that, does your opponent's effect take place if possible?

 

If you mean because Temtempo detached a material, then no.

 

If it's a quick effect, they can use it in response, but any material Temtempo removes is entirely from Temtempo's effect, and can not be comparable to paying the cost for an effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you mean because Temtempo detached a material, then no.

 

If it's a quick effect, they can use it in response, but any material Temtempo removes is entirely from Temtempo's effect, and can not be comparable to paying the cost for an effect.

Yeah that's what I meant by if possible, if it's a quick effect that can take effect.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is a weird one.

 

Tensu apparently has 2 different effects and it should make a difference.

 

On Wikia

 

During your Main Phase, you can Normal Summon 1 Beast-Warrior-Typemonster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.) Beast-Warrior-Type monsters you control gain 100ATK.

 

On DN

 

Once per turn, during your Main Phase, you can Normal Summon 1 Beast-Warrior-Type monster in addition to your Normal Summon or Set. All Beast-Warrior-Type monsters you control gain 100 ATK.

 

I understand that since Tensu (Wikia Version) has the (you only get this effect once per turn) clause, I only get to Normal Summon 1 additional time no matter how many copies I play. HOWEVER, if the DN wording is correct, then I should be able to play multiple copies of Tensu and be able to Normal Summon several additional times, correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In addition to that question:

 

Would cards like Double Summon stack with it, so you could Normal summon 3 times in a turn? Once normal, once from Tensu and once from Double Summon?

 

I don't think it stacks, but I have a strong feeling I'm actually wrong here and with a quick google check I couldn't find anything, so that makes me further think I'm wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is a weird one.

 

Tensu apparently has 2 different effects and it should make a difference.

 

On Wikia

 

 

 

On DN

 

 

 

I understand that since Tensu (Wikia Version) has the (you only get this effect once per turn) clause, I only get to Normal Summon 1 additional time no matter how many copies I play. HOWEVER, if the DN wording is correct, then I should be able to play multiple copies of Tensu and be able to Normal Summon several additional times, correct?

 

According to DN wording, yes you could Normal Summon multiple times with multiple copies. But I'm sure the "you only get this effect once per turn" will eventually be added. So I suggest testing it as if it had that line so you're prepared. ^^

 

In addition to that question:

 

Would cards like Double Summon stack with it, so you could Normal summon 3 times in a turn? Once normal, once from Tensu and once from Double Summon?

 

I don't think it stacks, but I have a strong feeling I'm actually wrong here and with a quick google check I couldn't find anything, so that makes me further think I'm wrong.

 

Yes, it would stack. All Double Summon does is stop you from getting another Normal Summon from another copy of Double Summon that turn. It does not stop you from getting another Normal Summon using a different card such as Ultimate Offering or in this case Tensu.

 

If I am incorrect on anything, please say so. ^^

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Cards that let you Normal Summon another monster as a part of an effect.

Cards of these group: Mahunder,Pahunder,Constellar Sombres,Evilswarm Cercyon,Ultimate Offering,Cry Havoc!,etc..

Considerations:

-Cards of the group 3 can always Normal Summon another monster.

... But Sombres and Kerykeion are NOT effects. They're like Castor and Pollux, just have an effect they have to use to gain it, unless something changed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The normal Summon effect of Sombres and Kerykeion are Ignition effects just like pahunder and Mahunder.

You can banish 1 "Constellar" monster from your Graveyard to target 1 "Constellar" monster in your Graveyard; add that target to your hand. You can only use this effect of "Constellar Sombres" once per turn. During your Main Phase, if you used this effect this turn: You can Normal Summon 1 "Constellar" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.) Once during the turn this card is sent to the Graveyard, you can Tribute Summon 1 "Constellar" monster with 1 less Tribute than required.

 

I can see how its ignition, but...

 

Eh, I'll wait for Darkwolf. Are Constellar Sombres and Evilswarm Kerykeion like Mahnder/Pahunder in being stackable?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can banish 1 "Constellar" monster from your Graveyard to target 1 "Constellar" monster in your Graveyard; add that target to your hand. You can only use this effect of "Constellar Sombres" once per turn. During your Main Phase, if you used this effect this turn: You can Normal Summon 1 "Constellar" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.) Once during the turn this card is sent to the Graveyard, you can Tribute Summon 1 "Constellar" monster with 1 less Tribute than required.

 

I can see how its ignition, but...

 

Eh, I'll wait for Darkwolf. Are Constellar Sombres and Evilswarm Kerykeion like Mahnder/Pahunder in being stackable?

 

You can't use the effect of two Sombres on the same turn,because to use the second effect you need to activate the first effect ,and that effect is restricted to once per turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I use Double Attack to discard Gishki Shadow or Gishki Vision, I can't use the effect right?

No. That's really silly to assume. The discard for Double Attack is a cost. The discard for Gishki Shadow is a cost. You can't pay a cost for something and then say you paid the cost for another. Just because a like condition happened within the gamestate does NOT mean you have activated an effect...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No. That's really silly to assume. The discard for Double Attack is a cost. The discard for Gishki Shadow is a cost. You can't pay a cost for something and then say you paid the cost for another. Just because a like condition happened within the gamestate does NOT mean you have activated an effect...

I figured. Thanks. I am always confused about cost and such things
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can't use the effect of two Sombres on the same turn,because to use the second effect you need to activate the first effect ,and that effect is restricted to once per turn.

In which case the (You cannot gain blah blah) is unneeded because that's obvious.

 

And Darkwolf says it DOES NOT STACK, and thus is not in group 3.

 

All three only allow you ONE in addition to your "Normal Summon or Set".

 

Assuming you used one of them this turn, trying to use the other two would result in you attempting to summon TWO and THREE in addition to your "Normal Summon or Set", which all of them only allowed ONE. All three grant you the ability to summon ONE. None of them grant you the ablity to summon TWO or THREE, so all their effects overlap each other.

 

Basically, they do not stack. You will only one additional summon even with all three on the field in effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's problem solving text that doesn't really solve the problem. It's to tell people that these kinds of effects do not stack, but it makes them think that it just means they can only use the effect of that specific card once.

... What? That has nothing to do with ANYTHING ._.

 

I was telling him that his classification is wrong because he implied that you could use a Pollux after using Sombres, if I read it correctly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...