[Discussion] Researching Your Characters

Research, possibly my most dreaded part of writing, but very important for certain things. It can be many different topics. Such as how naval battles work, or a mental disorder, or even something such as slang in certain areas of a country.

But what about characters? It would seem to be logical that one would need to know everything about everything involving your character right? However, is that true? How important is it really to research? And to that end what kinds of things should be researched, and how thoroughly?

How often do you research things for your characters, and what kinds of things? To get more specific, what are some interesting things you've researched/learned for your characters?

I research if I make my character a knowitall in a certain subject.  I brushed up on my chemistry and biology when I started playing Blake in Teen Titans.  I also did research on Australian slang when I played Leroy in Teen Titans.  

Other than that, I've only mostly participated in fantasy type settings, and you can just make sheet up in that.  

I believe research makes you more credible IC, albeit a bit pretentious, but I don't think it's necessary all the time.  

Oooohhhh boy is this a fun little subject!! XD

For my characters, I sort of find inspiration through ideas in mythology (be it Shinto, Greek, etc.) or even music...though it all depends on the RP in the given context. Right now I'll place two breakdowns for two characters I made...

[spoiler=Genzai Hatsune]

For example, one character I was happy in creating was Genzai Hatsune from Kyng's RP known as "Ragnarok". With that RP, your character literally had to be a Vanguard of a deity. While some chose simple ones from Greek and Egyptian mythos, I went with Shinto and chose Ryujin, the Shinto God of the Sea (who also happens to be a dragon).

I chose that and went directly into researching things for the character to reflect this:

• Genzai, meaning "current"