How To Stop A Thief In Yugioh

HaouJudai

A good online friend Madking66 had his collection stolen at a regional last week and this is an effort to pass along information I have picked up from 10 years of experience in the U.S. Air Force (safety training in foreign countries) and nearly that long in Yugioh TCG.

------

[spoiler=[b]Do's and Don'ts[/b]]
- Don't take large amounts of cards with you anywhere at anytime - stick to a small trade binder

- never let someone turn their back on you or start talking to someone else while trading

- be very careful of distractions - looking away from your items even while you are playing makes you and your collection vulnerable. lean forward and PAY ATTENTION - you can watch your opponent just as closely as you'd like during a duel.

- don't rely on others to watch your belongings - ever - take them with you even to the restroom

- don't use a backpack - they are unreliable and all of them look the same - I use a long WOW TCG box

- don't put your belongings on the floor while playing

-- At YCS Charlotte several backpacks were stolen while the strap was around the owner's leg - put them in your lap - if you can't play because you have too much then you took too much to the event.

- trust yourself - this is paramount - if you don't feel you should trust someone THEN DON'T!!!!

- watch their eyes - even fleeting glances at your belongings will provide a tell tale sign that they are interested in stealing them

- be careful of personal space - The most common trick for any thief to use is to move into your personal space in a crowd and act as if they are there browsing a vendor or just near you for another reason - they may even talk to you -

a thief can only grab as far as their arms can reach - so they have to move in close - this should set off alarms in your head to put a firm grip on your belongings[/spoiler]

[spoiler=[b]Common Thieving Techniques:[/b]]