Jump to content

[Written] Odd-Eyes Clearwing Dragon


DuelSpectre

Recommended Posts

I can totally see this happening, but this card could also be put in the experimental section.

 

Odd-Eyes Clearwing Dragon

Level 7 | Scale 4 | WIND | Dragon | Synchro | ATK 3000 | DEF 2500

Pendulum Effect: Once per turn, if you control another card in your Pendulum Zone: You can destroy that card, and it you do, Special Summon this card.

 

Monster Effect:

1 Tuner + 1 or more Dragon-Type non-tuners

If this card is Synchro Summoned by using an "Odd-Eyes" monster as a Material: Negate the effects of all face-up cards your opponent currently controls, and if you do, this card gains 1000 ATK for every card negated by this effect. If this card in the Monster Zone is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can destroy as many cards in your Pendulum Zones as possible (min. 1), and if you do, place this card in your Pendulum Zone.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you can Pendulum Summon Level 7, you can Pendulum Summon this face-up card in your Extra Deck.

 

I thought Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon only needed this condition because it was an Xyz Monster. Seems redundant on a Synchro Monster with Levels.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I thought Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon only needed this condition because it was an Xyz Monster. Seems redundant on a Synchro Monster with Levels.

It's for pendulum summoning it. extra deck pendulums have the prerequisite of have this line to allow for pendulum summoning when they're face-up in the extra deck, all la Rebellion. it definitely needs this, otherwise you wouldn't (probably) be able to pendulum summon this even if it's face-up in the extra deck. (unless they made a generic rule about face-up pendulum the originate from the extra)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's for pendulum summoning it. extra deck pendulums have the prerequisite of have this line to allow for pendulum summoning when they're face-up in the extra deck, all la Rebellion. it definitely needs this, otherwise you wouldn't (probably) be able to pendulum summon this even if it's face-up in the extra deck. (unless they made a generic rule about face-up pendulum the originate from the extra)

 

Why would that be the case? Is there actually something somewhere that says that? I thought the rule was that Pendulum Monsters that are face-up in the Extra Deck can be Pendulum Summoned when you Pendulum Summon monsters. I don't believe it ever says anything about "Pendulum Monsters, except those that originate from the Extra Deck" or "Main Deck Pendulum Monsters only", just "Pendulum Monsters". They would have to make a rule against Pendulum Summoning Extra Deck Pendulum Monsters, not one for it? Seeing as the monster has been properly first Special Summoned, they should be able to be Special Summoned by other ways (and this must be the case, otherwise Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon couldn't be Pendulum Summoned from the Extra Deck even with its condition + you being able to Pendulum Summon Level 7), so I'm not aware of any existing rule that would stop you from Pendulum Summoning face-up Extra Deck Pendulum Monsters in the Extra Deck?

 

How can you be so sure that Extra Deck Pendulums must have that line if Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is the only Extra Deck Pendulum to date?

 

Unless it actually is explicitly stated somewhere and I'm just not aware...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why would that be the case? Is there actually something somewhere that says that? I thought the rule was that Pendulum Monsters that are face-up in the Extra Deck can be Pendulum Summoned when you Pendulum Summon monsters. I don't believe it ever says anything about "Pendulum Monsters, except those that originate from the Extra Deck" or "Main Deck Pendulum Monsters only", just "Pendulum Monsters". They would have to make a rule against Pendulum Summoning Extra Deck Pendulum Monsters, not one for it? Seeing as the monster has been properly first Special Summoned, they should be able to be Special Summoned by other ways (and this must be the case, otherwise Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon couldn't be Pendulum Summoned from the Extra Deck even with its condition + you being able to Pendulum Summon Level 7), so I'm not aware of any existing rule that would stop you from Pendulum Summoning face-up Extra Deck Pendulum Monsters in the Extra Deck?

 

How can you be so sure that Extra Deck Pendulums must have that line if Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is the only Extra Deck Pendulum to date?

 

Unless it actually is explicitly stated somewhere and I'm just not aware...

Actually you are right with the clause that you can pendulum summon monster s from your hand or face-up PENDULUM monsters (which is similar to a type in this case) which have fitting levels, so you should be able to pendulum summon ALL face-up Pendulum monsters you should thus (as face-up in the extra deck is similar to an alternative graveyard extra deck monsters (fusion, synchro and xyz) do have to be properly summoned before they can be revived) be able to pendulum summon synchro pendulums and fusion pendulums.

(As already mentioned rebellion only has it as he is an xyz monster (which would fall out of this rule)).

 

However I would like to also criticize a few things about your card.

First it does not have 3000 ATK, it does fall into the group of dimension dragon upgrades, so as all dimension dragons have the same base stats it would seem quite likely the combinations for 2 should follow that pattern.

Second he does need an effect if a synchro monster is used for his synchro summon, otherwise he would not follow the line of upgrades actually upgrading the basic dimension dragon they are based on (in this case clear wing).

 

EDIT: I would say the actually Odd-Eyes Clear Wing Dragon could potentially get an own set of magicians and be able to use both odd-eyes and clear wing as tuners.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Odd-Eyes Rebellion needs that 1st effect because it's an Xyz Monster, and given how the Pendulum mechanic is structured, it's needed so things don't get screwed up.

Fusion and Synchro Monsters have Levels, so they should obey the mechanics of Pendulum Summoning that already existed prior to Rebellion's reveal.

 

Same with Rituals.

 

--------

Just keep in mind that Rebellion is the only Extra Deck Pendulum, so there may certainly be a ruling for Synchro and other Extra Deck Pendulums, if any are to be released later (either in Dimension of Chaos or that upcoming one).

 

For now, you don't need that 1st effect on Fusion, Synchro and Ritual Monsters. Xyz, you do for obvious reasons.

You probably won't need that clause; we've had other members post Fusion/Ritual Pendulums, and didn't need the clause. (You need to properly SS them first though)

 

--------

There's your ruling on the matter.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...