Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Does w nebula meteorite activate flip effects? Does it activate worm yagan's bounce effect?

 

Yes, since it doesn't say "Flip Effects are not activated at this time", and flipping up by an effect is still flipping a monster up, which is all that is needed for Flip Effects to activate.

 

And yes, because Yagan gets its effect when it's flipped up, which Nebula does.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Would you say Depth Amulet is a decent option if I'm unsatisfied with the discard power of my Dark World Deck?

 

Oh, and before you doubt it works with DWs:

It's a bad idea because Dark Worlds don't have space and don't need more discard power with spells. Save traps for staples and viruses.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can W Nebula Meteorite's SS effect be negated with Solemn Warning/Royal Oprression?

 

You would have to activate it in response to Meteorite's activation, since the effects during the End Phase don't start a chain. To be honest, I'm not 100% positive you can use Warning/Oppresion on Meteorite, but I've heard you can. Maybe darkwolf can confirm?

 

I summon Tour Guide, use its eff to summon Dark Resonator, then flip Skill Drain. I can has Gaia Knight?

 

No. The inability to use the monster as a Synchro Material is a Condition on the Summoned monster, not an effect. It cannot be negated by Skill Drain. Similarly, using Skill Drain on a monster that Summoned a Token will not remove the restrictions on the token's use.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A monster (say, BLS) attacks a second time due to its own effect. I flip Skill Drain in response. What happens?

 

I'm leaning toward "the attack fizzes", since Gravity Bind says "can't declare attacks" or something like that and it stops pre-declared attacks.

 

BLS is having a second attack due to its effect. The effect is negated, so it can not attack again this turn. The attack stops.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How do cards like Shrink affect the following?

  • Monsters with ? ATK that get their ATK defined when summoned, like Endless Decay,
  • Monsters with ? ATK that continuously set their ATK like Gren Maju da Eiza (also, what a Banisher if F/U and Shrink gets removed after resolving),
  • Monsters with ? ATK but no text that defines their ATK like Rai-Jin?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How do cards like Shrink affect the following?

  • Monsters with ? ATK that get their ATK defined when summoned, like Endless Decay,
  • Monsters with ? ATK that continuously set their ATK like Gren Maju da Eiza (also, what a Banisher if F/U and Shrink gets removed after resolving),
  • Monsters with ? ATK but no text that defines their ATK like Rai-Jin?

 

1) As no effect is continuous modifying the ATK value, it will become 0 and remain 0.

 

2) The original ATK of ? is treated as 0, it will then reapply the ATK modification.

 

3) Rai-Jin does have an effect that modifies its ATK, since it itself is a Light monster, and boosts all Lights. To my knowledge, all ? monsters have some method in their text of determining their ATK.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based on wording, I'd say no, because it says to "Then...". Since you couldn't do the previous step, you can not do this, either.

 

Also, there's this ruling: If you cannot change your LIGHT Reptile-Type monsters to facedown Defense Position due to Dark Simorgh. you cannot draw cards or Special Summon 1 Level 7 or higher LIGHT Reptile-Type monster.

 

This confirms that if you cannot flip monsters facedown for any reason, you cannot do anything else in the effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Draw Phase, I draw Spell of Pain

Standby Phase, my Acid Golem's effect activates.

 

Can I activate Spell of Pain from my hand to redirect Acid Golem's effect?

 

It depends if your playing OCG or TCG. I bet your playing TCG, so I believe so. If your playing OCG, no. You may need evilfusion's input to verify this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hm...

 

Acid Golem is a Trigger Effect, so Spell of Pain could be activated, as it is an effect that activates that inflicts damage. The problem comes from Acid Golem's wording. It says "detach a Material OR take 2000 damage". If it's not clear whether you'll take damage during resolution, you can't use Spell of Pain, the same way you can't use Barrel against Judgment of Anubis, because destruction/damage is optional.

 

However, I think it would be similar to Elemental Hero Stratos, in that the chain opportunity occurs as soon as the effect option is decided. It is worded like you can choose whether to detach a Material or take damage, and it's mandatory, so you have to do one of them.

 

So, I think you can use Spell of Pain and/or Barrel Behind the Door against Acid Golem if you decide/have to take 2000 damage.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hm...

 

Acid Golem is a Trigger Effect, so Spell of Pain could be activated, as it is an effect that activates that inflicts damage. The problem comes from Acid Golem's wording. It says "detach a Material OR take 2000 damage". If it's not clear whether you'll take damage during resolution, you can't use Spell of Pain, the same way you can't use Barrel against Judgment of Anubis, because destruction/damage is optional.

 

However, I think it would be similar to Elemental Hero Stratos, in that the chain opportunity occurs as soon as the effect option is decided. It is worded like you can choose whether to detach a Material or take damage, and it's mandatory, so you have to do one of them.

 

So, I think you can use Spell of Pain and/or Barrel Behind the Door against Acid Golem if you decide/have to take 2000 damage.

 

The wording was my issue of finding a solid answer. Thanks for giving the extra hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What happens when I play Mind Crush and target something unpronounceable like Tanngnjostr? Is giving a description of the card enough or do I have to spend five minutes struggling to say it?

 

So long as the opponent is made clearly aware of what card you're describing, that should be enough, unless your opponent is a complete A-hole.

 

For Tanngnostr, I'd even accept "Black Goat" as a proper answer, because I know what you're talking about. Same thing with Dark Worlds if you said "the field Spell" (since it's name is so similar to the Quick Play revival card).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...