Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

This is a CC problem. I have a mandatory card effect that returns to the deck during the End Phase, but I'm trying to have an effect stop that, however it's not mandatory. Since I can have my opinional effect stop my cards from being returned, will it go first?

 

Not really enough information.  Try writing out the custom card effect you're asking questions about as it helps to answer the question.

 

If it is a Trigger Effect that starts a chain, then effects can be chained to it, such as ones that could stop the effect like Divine Wrath. 

 

If its a Continuous Effect of some sort, or a latent effect of an effect that resolved earlier, then you wouldn't be able to stop it from returning to the Deck directly, but can with another Continuous Effect that specifically prevents that action in question, such as G.B. Hunter preventing cards from being returned to the Deck or by making the monster immune to the latent effect that would return it to the Deck (such as causing a monster to be unaffected by Spell or Trap cards with Forbidden Lance will also cause the monster to be unaffected by latent effects of Spell/Trap cards that would later affect it)

 

So the answer depends on the nature of the effect you are using.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not really enough information.  Try writing out the custom card effect you're asking questions about as it helps to answer the question.

 

If it is a Trigger Effect that starts a chain, then effects can be chained to it, such as ones that could stop the effect like Divine Wrath. 

 

If its a Continuous Effect of some sort, or a latent effect of an effect that resolved earlier, then you wouldn't be able to stop it from returning to the Deck directly, but can with another Continuous Effect that specifically prevents that action in question, such as G.B. Hunter preventing cards from being returned to the Deck or by making the monster immune to the latent effect that would return it to the Deck (such as causing a monster to be unaffected by Spell or Trap cards with Forbidden Lance will also cause the monster to be unaffected by latent effects of Spell/Trap cards that would later affect it)

 

So the answer depends on the nature of the effect you are using.

I got a bunch that do this, since the archetype is based around returning, so here's snips from cards that return.

 

You can discard this card to target 1 "True Gods" monster in your Graveyard except "True Gods - Apollo of the Sun"; Special Summon it. During the End Phase of the turn you activate this effect: Shuffle that card and this card into your Deck.

 

*Tribute this card and "True Gods - Athena of Reason"; Special Summon 2 Level 4 or lower "True Gods" monsters from your hand, Graveyard and Deck except "True Gods - Athena of Reason". Return them to your Deck during your next End Phase. You can only use this effect once per turn.

 

Pay 1000 Life Points;  Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower "True Gods" monster in your Deck or Graveyard. Return this face-up card, and that face-up monster you control to your Deck during the End Phase.

 

I suppose I wouldn't be able to able to since my effect goes as followed:

During the End Phase: You can activate 1 of these effects:

*Tribute this card; "True Gods" card cannot be returned to your Deck until your next End Phase.

 

I guess I'm going to have to reword it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can discard this card to target 1 "True Gods" monster in your Graveyard except "True Gods - Apollo of the Sun"; Special Summon it. During the End Phase of the turn you activate this effect: Shuffle that card and this card into your Deck.

 

As you've written it, its clearly a Trigger Effect.  "During the End Phase of the turn you activate this effect:" has a colon.  Its a Trigger Effect that starts a chain.  Cards like Divine Wrath could negate it.

 

It would make more sense to not have it be a Trigger Effect, rather than the effect of the discarded card, and just state "The monster summoned by this effect is returned the Deck during the End Phase you activated this effect." as part of a latent effect of the Summon.

 

*Tribute this card and "True Gods - Athena of Reason"; Special Summon 2 Level 4 or lower "True Gods" monsters from your hand, Graveyard and Deck except "True Gods - Athena of Reason". Return them to your Deck during your next End Phase. You can only use this effect once per turn.

 

This seems about right.

 

 

Pay 1000 Life Points;  Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower "True Gods" monster in your Deck or Graveyard. Return this face-up card, and that face-up monster you control to your Deck during the End Phase.

 

"From" your Deck or Graveyard.  Could probably just say "Return this face-up card and the monster Summoned by this effect that you control to the Deck during the End Phase of this turn".

 

 

I suppose I wouldn't be able to able to since my effect goes as followed:

During the End Phase: You can activate 1 of these effects:

*Tribute this card; "True Gods" card cannot be returned to your Deck until your next End Phase.

 

You say "You can activate 1 of these effects" but you only listed one effect.

 

Stating that they cannot be returned to your Deck would prevent them from being returned to the Deck by the effects you mentioned.

 

 

It all depends on what you're going for, and it seems that you want them to be a latent effect of the summon.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not seeing how it's different that I make mine a Trigger effect with a colon or without one. I just thought that putting a colon meant that a certain condition had been made, such as going to the End Phase. So it would change it if I didn't have that colon? Would it make it an a non-trigger effect then?

 

For your second correction, it's just me not checking them completly, they are not even finished yet so yeah.

 

I only listed one because it was the only one mentioning returning, as I said above "here's snips from cards that return." The latter part of that effect is for something else. And yes, I all want the effects to be Lingering Effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not seeing how it's different that I make mine a Trigger effect with a colon or without one. I just thought that putting a colon meant that a certain condition had been made, such as going to the End Phase. So it would change it if I didn't have that colon? Would it make it an a non-trigger effect then?

 

For your second correction, it's just me not checking them completly, they are not even finished yet so yeah.

 

I only listed one because it was the only one mentioning returning, as I said above "here's snips from cards that return." The latter part of that effect is for something else. And yes, I all want the effects to be Lingering Effects.

 

Putting a colon makes it an effect which starts a chain.  Continuous Effects and Latent effects of cards do not start chains.  By using a colon, that means your effect, as it is worded, will be a Trigger Effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Putting a colon makes it an effect which starts a chain.  Continuous Effects and Latent effects of cards do not start chains.  By using a colon, that means your effect, as it is worded, will be a Trigger Effect.

Well that's clearly not my point, my point is for it to be a Lingering Effect that requires you to put it back to the deck, not a Trigger Effect happening at that moment. I'll have to rewrite my cards a bit. Thanks for the help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well that's clearly not my point, my point is for it to be a Lingering Effect that requires you to put it back to the deck, not a Trigger Effect happening at that moment. I'll have to rewrite my cards a bit. Thanks for the help.

 

 

 

When you say things like:

 

I'm not seeing how it's different that I make mine a Trigger effect with a colon or without one.

 

Then it becomes a point that requires explaining as to why its different, regardless of that's what you're aiming for.  Considering how often you ask questions, I could see this as something you'd eventually ask sooner or later.

 

Another thing, since that thing I just quoted of yours might be reaching some other conclusion, Trigger Effects are effects which start chains.  There is no such thing as a "Trigger Effect without a Colon" with the current Problem-Solving Card Text.  If it doesn't have a colon, then it is not an effect which starts a chain, meaning it would be a Continuous Effect or Lingering part of an Effect that was already used, though I explained that already.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I normal summon alien ammonite and use it's effect on warrior. Can I still drop alien dog, or do I have to not use ammonite's effect?

 

Both effects are Trigger Effects that have the same timing of activation.  They can chain together.  Alien Ammonite will be Chain Link #1.  You can activate Alien Dog as Chain Link #2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

oh whoops. i misremembered thats how it works in that particular situation. thanks for....being right i guess. haha.

 

That isn't a case "for this particular situation". Activation of cards and effects don't count as events in terms of "the last thing to happen" (unless you want to specifically negate that card or effect, of course, but that's different). That's why you can Crystal Abundance two Pegasus onto the field and activate both their Trigger effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My opp. chain Ojama Trio to Dark hole.

 

Am I correct in that the tokens summoned are destroyed by dark hole?

 

Chain Link #1: Dark Hole

Chain LInk #2: Ojama Trio

 

Chain Link #2: Ojama Tokens are summoned.

Chain Link #1: All monsters on the field are destroyed.

 

Yes, the tokens are destroyed by Dark Hole.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

Is the reason why Justice can still activate and resolve its effect when Effect Veiler is used on it because the effect of Veiler mandatorially ends during the start of the End Phase? I know that Veiler can stop spirits, but that must be because they are also mandatory?

As far as I know, Veiler's holder chooses when it fades, but the difference between Justice and Veiler is that Veiler MUST fade before the phase ends, whereas Justice does not have to activate.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As far as I know, Veiler's holder chooses when it fades, but the difference between Justice and Veiler is that Veiler MUST fade before the phase ends, whereas Justice does not have to activate.

That's exactly what I just said, so I take it that -is- the reasoning.

 

@Aix: Yes, you can. Fossil Dyna doesn't say in its text it can't be special summoned, just that while it's on the field monsters cannot be special summoned. This does mean that you can't use Fossil Dyna face-up on the field itself for a special summon of a different monster, however.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Memory of an Adversay

Trap

When an opponent's monster declares an attack: You take damage equal to the attacking monster's ATK, and if you do, banish that monster. During the End Phase of your opponent's next turn, Special Summon that monster to your side of the field.

 

The damage taken is not a cost right? So if I take it my opp. cant lance their monster (or something else) since taking the damage and their monster happen simultaneously?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Memory of an Adversay

Trap

When an opponent's monster declares an attack: You take damage equal to the attacking monster's ATK, and if you do, banish that monster. During the End Phase of your opponent's next turn, Special Summon that monster to your side of the field.

 

The damage taken is not a cost right? So if I take it my opp. cant lance their monster (or something else) since taking the damage and their monster happen simultaneously?

 

It is not a cost because there is no semi-colon. You take the damage during the effect's resolution. Cards may chain.

 

If the opponent chains Lance, you will take damage to the current ATK (whatever it was, -800 from Lance). The monster is NOT banished, because Lance prevents it from being affected by card effects. Since the monster was not banished, the effect ends here.

 

You still take the damage because taking damage equal to the ATK is not affecting the opponent's monster.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It is not a cost because there is no semi-colon. You take the damage during the effect's resolution. Cards may chain.

 

If the opponent chains Lance, you will take damage to the current ATK (whatever it was, -800 from Lance). The monster is NOT banished, because Lance prevents it from being affected by card effects. Since the monster was not banished, the effect ends here.

 

You still take the damage because taking damage equal to the ATK is not affecting the opponent's monster.

I mean after I take the damage not before.

 

Example 1#

they Attack, I activate this, they respond with lance, I then take the modified damage

 

Example 2#

They attack, I activate this, they don't respond, I take the damage, at this point can they lance

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...