Jump to content

Fake Hand


cp49100

Recommended Posts

Fake Hand

✪✪
Water
Beast-Warrior/Effect
ATK 576/DEF 756
 
If a card effect would make you discard 2 or more cards from your hand; you can discard this 1 card (only) instead.
If you would discard more than 1 card for the activation of a card or effect, you can pay 800 LP for every other card you would have discarded and discard this 1 card (only) instead.

 

[spoiler=Trivia]Each number in this card's ATK/DEF represent's something different:
5: Your starting hand.
6: The maximum number of cards you can have in your hand during the End Phase.
7: When you exceed the max number of cards in you can have in your hand during the End Phase.

Text fix by Darj

 

[spoiler=Edits]This is now a very searchable card and I kind of wanted it to be Water anyway so Sleepy just gave me a good excuse xD

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hmm the first effect I cannot think of many things that could use it. First thing that comes to mind are banned cards from the Goat Format era.

Graceful Charity but it doesn't sound quite as big as using Sinister Serpent.

Card Destruction if you want to minimize your hand changing but want to change the opponent's completely.

Morphing Jar where you'd discard just 1 and still draw 5. Possibly the best use for the first effect.

I actually kind of wonder how this card interacts with being used for a Ritual Summon or with Polymerization while in your hand.

 

The second effect sounds like it could have messed up with Mermail costs for the most part since not many other cards in the game really discard more than 1 card to activate. Except it's not WATER so there's that. No EARTH monsters that could use it come to mind.

Brionac (banned) but it'd still probably not be treated as having discarded that many cards.... although I'm not sure since technically you'd be declaring the discard number and paying LP accordingly.

 

I'd have a lot of fun with Final Destiny though. I mean, discard 1 card and pay 3200 to destroy the whole field sounds expensive but it is such an out of the blue move. Of course that'd mean Final Destiny would realistically only be live for you if you draw into this monster so we could call it a troll move OR an excuse to tech this card along with Diamond Dude and make it live. Which Diamond Dude has Crystal Abundance which doesn't destroy or targte, but now Final Destiny would have more than 1 way of triggering so it's a fair debate to be had.

 

The stats are weird but I can live with that xD

I don't think there are really any problems with it. I'd get a copy for a few fun duels.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For reality purposes, most stats are divisible by 10 (the anime has had some instances where cards have stats like 666, 2501 and certainly PaniK's stuff when Yami was up under Duelist Kingdom rules).

 

But to be fair, I guess you can use this to Hand Destruction or something, if that ever gets run. Going onto the point Sleepy mentioned about Brio and the like; I think it'd only be considered as one card, but in cases like this, evilfusion gets PM'd a ruling query.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The stats are unrealistic; well, at the very least the last number is: monster with an unit number a different to 0 don't exist. Monsters with a X0 value different to 00 or 50 are uncommon, but they do exist, so that one should be fine.

 

The first effect is practically outclassed by Gemini Imps, so that means you would be using this card mainly for its discard-cost substitute effect. However, cards and effects that cost more than 1 discard are really scarce, and waiting to have both the card/effect and this card at hand would be situational and impractical so I doubt it would be worth it except for casual or for-fun duels with friends. You can alleviate this by giving the card traits that make it the most searchable as possible. For instance, as Beast-Warrior it would be searchable by both Fire Formation - Tenki, and the recent Juunishi/Zodiac Beast Bullhorn.

 

Suggested card text fix:

When a card effect that makes you discard 2 or more cards from your hand resolves, you can discard this 1 card (only) instead.
If you would discard more than 1 card for the activation of a card or effect: Pay 800 LP for every other card you would have discarded, discard this 1 card (only) instead.

 

I suggest the (only) in parenthesis just to be more clear, but they aren't needed, really.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Actually, I believe I made a mistake on the fix: the second effect shouldn't start a chain or otherwise will conflict with the activated card/effect with the discard cost, in the sense that by the time it attempts to chain to the discarding card/effect, said card/effect was already activated and the cost was paid, and thus is too late. Instead, it should be a continuous effect for it to effectively substitute the discard cost without meddling in the chain:

 

If you would discard more than 1 card for the activation of a card or effect, you can pay 800 LP for every other card you would discard, and discard this 1 card (only) instead.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...