Fukato Posted November 28, 2017 Report Share Posted November 28, 2017 Field Spell CardEffect: During your End Phase, if this card is activated this turn: You can add 1 Field Spell Card from your Deck to your hand, except "Pre-Era Creation Myth". All monsters you control gain 300 ATK and DEF. You can only use 1 "Pre-Era Creation Myth" per turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eshai Posted November 28, 2017 Report Share Posted November 28, 2017 "Creation Myth" is probably a better name. Just because it's a good description of what the card does. Otherwise, there's not much to review. I'll add it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted November 28, 2017 Report Share Posted November 28, 2017 I thought maybe something along the lines of "during your next standby: Get your 1 Field Spell"(not in those exact words)As in a half-Gold Sarcophagus, but more specialized. I mean, the club did mention not having Terraforming for questions of speed, right? This seems as fast as Terraforming. Other than the hard OPT it has. I also would advice once the new Field Spell comes, the old one goes away. Be it via destruction or even returning this to the Deck. Just a couple ideas. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fukato Posted November 28, 2017 Author Report Share Posted November 28, 2017 Well, one difference between this and Terraforming is... It can be negated via, destruction effects in reaction to the activation. But yeah, I can see what you mean though. Maybe instead, I would make it, you cannot activate the added card? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kid Gambino Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 Well, one difference between this and Terraforming is... It can be negated via, destruction effects in reaction to the activation. But yeah, I can see what you mean though. Maybe instead, I would make it, you cannot activate the added card? Uh, someone correct me if I'm wrong, but activation effects still go off unless it's negated. If my memory serves me right and this still holds true, then this card is just Terraforming + a generic monster boost, and Terraforming is already asking to be axed in the current meta. I'd suggest Sleepy's Gold Sarcophagus idea, maybe a little faster (1 turn) to not make Terraforming essentially useless in comparison to this card. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 Uh, someone correct me if I'm wrong, but activation effects still go off unless it's negated. If my memory serves me right and this still holds true, then this card is just Terraforming + a generic monster boost, and Terraforming is already asking to be axed in the current meta. I'd suggest Sleepy's Gold Sarcophagus idea, maybe a little faster (1 turn) to not make Terraforming essentially useless in comparison to this card. I'd think the same thing, but I tested a trigger effect a while ago from a field spell, specifically Lemuria's Level increasing effect http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Lemuria,_the_Forgotten_Cityand after the fact, I tried swapping it with another copy to further increase the Levels, and it ended up undoing the previous (already resolved) effect. This has been relatively consistent in Field Spell Cards. Their in-field effects go away with them even if they seemed to not be continuous effects.Some Field Spells and Pendulum Scales actually have the distinction of "(even if this card leaves the field)" in modern cards to prevent the effect negation. So in this card's case, chaining removal effects does stop it cold. I learned it the bad way a while ago u_uThat said, I still think the Field Spell should get some sort of delay, because other than being countered, it is still pretty much as fast as Terraforming. Well, that is, if they don't want it to be as fast as Terraforming... The idea was for the card to not be as good, but speed is not necessarily what Eshai had in mind, so IDK xD Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kid Gambino Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 I'd think the same thing, but I tested a trigger effect a while ago from a field spell, specifically Lemuria's Level increasing effect http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Lemuria,_the_Forgotten_Cityand after the fact, I tried swapping it with another copy to further increase the Levels, and it ended up undoing the previous (already resolved) effect. This has been relatively consistent in Field Spell Cards. Their in-field effects go away with them even if they seemed to not be continuous effects.Some Field Spells and Pendulum Scales actually have the distinction of "(even if this card leaves the field)" in modern cards to prevent the effect negation. So in this card's case, chaining removal effects does stop it cold. I learned it the bad way a while ago u_uThat said, I still think the Field Spell should get some sort of delay, because other than being countered, it is still pretty much as fast as Terraforming. Well, that is, if they don't want it to be as fast as Terraforming... The idea was for the card to not be as good, but speed is not necessarily what Eshai had in mind, so IDK xD I really hate getting super technical with YGO rulings since the more I dive into them, the more I tend to get confused lol, but I really feel like I'm right about this. I'm not sure what you mean by "I tried swapping it" and on what you were doing this, but I did some research and Lemuria wouldn't go off if something was to remove it before the effect resolved because it "missed the timing". The only response you can do in this case is card activation negation, which treats the card as never existing on the field in the first place. I found this information here, but I'll quote it for everyone's benefit. Destroying a card is distinct from negating its effect; even if a card is destroyed, its activated effect can still resolve. For example, when a player activates "Dark Hole" and the other player Chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" targeting"Dark Hole", it will destroy "Dark Hole", but "Dark Hole" will still resolve, so the monsters are still destroyed. This is the same scenario as trying to stop it's effect by removing it from the field after activation, yeah it'll successfully be destroyed but you'll still get the Terraforming effect regardless. This card would have to be an ignition-effect like Lemuria to not require negation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fukato Posted November 29, 2017 Author Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 Continuous Spell/Traps and Field Spells lose their on activation effects or other activations if they are chained by a removal effect (excluding negations). http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Mystical_Space_Typhoon OCG Ruling:Mystical Space Typhoon" and "Dust Tornado" do not negate the effects of cards they destroy. So Spell and Trap Cards that "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to may still resolve if they are in the Graveyard. However the effects of Continuous and Equip Cards need to remain on the field to resolve, so their effects are not applied if they are destroyed. TCG Ruling: (Pretty much the same)Ancient Forest: If “Mystical Space Typhoon” is Chained to the activation of “Ancient Forest,” the Defense Position monsters are not changed to Attack Position because “Ancient Forest” is no longer face-up on the field. But I do suppose making it delayed wouldn't hurt. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 I really hate getting super technical with YGO rulings since the more I dive into them, the more I tend to get confused lol, but I really feel like I'm right about this. I'm not sure what you mean by "I tried swapping it" and on what you were doing this, but I did some research and Lemuria wouldn't go off if something was to remove it before the effect resolved because it "missed the timing". The only response you can do in this case is card activation negation, which treats the card as never existing on the field in the first place. I found this information here, but I'll quote it for everyone's benefit. This is the same scenario as trying to stop it's effect by removing it from the field after activation, yeah it'll successfully be destroyed but you'll still get the Terraforming effect regardless. This card would have to be an ignition-effect like Lemuria to not require negation. What I meant is, I activated Lemuria, it went through, THEN I sent it to the Graveyard to activate a second Lemuria and try to do it again. No chains involved. But the first Lemuria's effect stopped being alive and my Levels reverted, so they can't stack.Of course I don't rule out the chance of it having been a glitch or a rule specific to that card, but as far as I could infer, it has to do with the reason "(even if it leaves the field)" is slapped on trigger effects that affect certain cards for a limited time, when they come from a card that requires to be face-up (Field Spells, Continuous, Equips, Pendulum Spells). That is the specific I'm refering to.EDIT:Before I forget.Ok, but the OP is different, because it is a "search" and you cannot really unsearch xDbut yeah, MST will counter this card, Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kid Gambino Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 Fair enough, though I'm not sure why Konami decided to say "except fields and continuous cards, screw them", but if they decreed it so, then it is so. My misunderstanding. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted November 29, 2017 Report Share Posted November 29, 2017 If the goal is to make a more vulnerable version of Terraforming that also delays Field Spells since you can't activate this and then a different Field without losing the search, then this fulfills that purpose. But part of me wishes it was more like Majester in that it activates and resolves the effect on summon, in this card's case, activation, and you get the search even if the monster is gone, since the effect successfully resolved already. This change, however, would effectively allow you to perform the aforementioned Field switch without losing the search. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.