Zauls Posted January 22, 2011 Report Share Posted January 22, 2011 Someone told me they had this done to them once, and it sounded either wrong or completely hilearious. The setup is - Having Treeborn Frog in your Grave. Having King Tiger Whagnu on the field face-up. Having Ookazi/Tremendous Fire in your hand. Controlling no backrows. Step 1: During Standby Phase, Summon Treeborn from the Grave Step 2: Whagnu's effect will automatically resolve, destroying Treeborn Step 3: Repeat steps 1 and 2 until a judge shouts "Time on the round!" Step 4: Enter Main Phase, perhaps defend a little since there are still 4 turns to go, switch Tiger to Defense, maybe set backrows. Step 5: After succesfully defending for 4 turns, activate Ookazi/Tremendous Fire for game. I fail to see how anyone could pull this off, but apparently it happened. I'm not sure whether it is actually legal or not. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~Nightshade~ Posted January 22, 2011 Report Share Posted January 22, 2011 I believe it's not. Isn't that stalling? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azuh Posted January 22, 2011 Report Share Posted January 22, 2011 Yeah... so your going to Summon Treeborn and send it to the Graveyard for around... I dunno, 10 minutes? Basically after you do so, for the 4th time, I'm pretty sure you'll be kicked out for stalling Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
byak Posted January 22, 2011 Report Share Posted January 22, 2011 Can't do that Starfox. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gallabas Posted January 29, 2011 Report Share Posted January 29, 2011 Is stalling actually illegal assuming you are doing something in that time? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
<}Alpha Frogodile{> Posted January 29, 2011 Report Share Posted January 29, 2011 Technically, there's nothing they can do, as you're actually doing something during this time period. It would probably be up to the judge. I would lol so hard if you used sparks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joex486 Posted January 30, 2011 Report Share Posted January 30, 2011 [quote name='Gallabas' timestamp='1296332560' post='4971835'] Is stalling actually illegal assuming you are doing something in that time? [/quote] This is the rules about loops: You may not activate any card effect that causes an infinite loop [b]with no net change.[/b] In this case, you cannot just keep on special summoning treeborn frog, because you aren't changing the duel at all. If, for example, you had another card out that caused damage to your opponent or that made you draw cards whenever treeborn frog is destroyed, then the loop has net change, and is therefore legal. However, without something like that, you would just be stalling for time, which is a rather cheap tactic, and is as such not allowed. See this webpage: [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Infinite_Loop"]http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Infinite_Loop[/url] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
<}Alpha Frogodile{> Posted January 31, 2011 Report Share Posted January 31, 2011 [quote name='joex486' timestamp='1296367666' post='4973183'] This is the rules about loops: You may not activate any card effect that causes an infinite loop [b]with no net change.[/b] In this case, you cannot just keep on special summoning treeborn frog, because you aren't changing the duel at all. If, for example, you had another card out that caused damage to your opponent or that made you draw cards whenever treeborn frog is destroyed, then the loop has net change, and is therefore legal. However, without something like that, you would just be stalling for time, which is a rather cheap tactic, and is as such not allowed. See this webpage: [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Infinite_Loop"]http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Infinite_Loop[/url] [/quote] from that same page: [quote]When the Loop is controlled by a player, the Loop can be stopped at any time by that player. As such, a Controlled Loop is legal for use.[/quote] thus, the play is legal. The no net change clause only applies to infinite loops, or loops uncontrolled by the player. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheTurtleOnceCalledGod Posted January 31, 2011 Report Share Posted January 31, 2011 Basic tournament rule: Don't troll the opponent just to waste time. Stalling on purpose without reaching a goal other than annoying the opponent pretty much disqualifies you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wiithepeople Posted February 5, 2011 Report Share Posted February 5, 2011 [quote name='TheTurtleOnceCalledGod' timestamp='1296440066' post='4975493'] Basic tournament rule: Don't troll the opponent just to waste time. Stalling on purpose without reaching a goal other than annoying the opponent pretty much disqualifies you. [/quote] says the victim of a trollstall *starts making trololololol.dek* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zkaiser Posted February 6, 2011 Report Share Posted February 6, 2011 When I read Wanghu I thought that you were gonna talk about the World Tree OTK. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catterjune Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 [quote]V. Tournament Infractions A. Slow Play This category covers infractions associated with the pace of a player’s game. Players are expected to play at a reasonable speed, regardless of the complexity of the game situation. Stalling is never acceptable.[/quote] Source [It's a PDF file BTW]: http://www.yugioh-card.com/uk/gameplay/rulings/2010-07-10_KDE-EU_Tournament%20Policy.pdf This strategy wouldn't work at a tournament, since stalling is not allowed. This strategy wouldn't work in a casual fun game, since there is no time limit. tl;dr - THIS STRATEGY DOES NOT WORK Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sephiroth_The_Legend Posted February 8, 2011 Report Share Posted February 8, 2011 I'm sure doing this would net many punches in the face...... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joex486 Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 [quote name='<}Alpha Frogodile{>' timestamp='1296433464' post='4975219'] from that same page: thus, the play is legal. The no net change clause only applies to infinite loops, or loops uncontrolled by the player. [/quote] The effect of King Tiger Wanghu cannot be controlled by the player. It activates automatically. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 [quote name='joex486' timestamp='1298601848' post='5032672'] The effect of King Tiger Wanghu cannot be controlled by the player. It activates automatically. [/quote] But the Summoning of Treeborn Frog is. So long as one part of it can be controlled by the player, then its controllable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 So is it legal or not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 It's probably legal, but nobody would like you for doing it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 Do not use any kind of legal loop int the WC games, legal or not. I just went through an entire 10 minute loop with Final Attack Orders and Morphing Jar #2 because the game doesn't destroy [s]final attack orders[/s] All-Out Attacks when the opponent's deck is out. Had 3 jars, needle worm and cat of ill omen. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 The same thing can be achieved easily with brionac and fabled cerburrel. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BehindTheMask Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 [quote name='PikaPerson01' timestamp='1297096249' post='4995212'] Source [It's a PDF file BTW]: http://www.yugioh-card.com/uk/gameplay/rulings/2010-07-10_KDE-EU_Tournament%20Policy.pdf This strategy wouldn't work at a tournament, since stalling is not allowed. This strategy wouldn't work in a casual fun game, since there is no time limit. tl;dr - THIS STRATEGY DOES NOT WORK [/quote] This is the answer. Lock thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 But isn't stalling having a long period of time without doing anything, and in this case you are doing something. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 [quote name='iHop' timestamp='1298667071' post='5033957'] But isn't stalling having a long period of time without doing anything, and in this case you are doing something. [/quote] But there's no net change, thus you are essentially doing nothing. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eibon1307 Posted February 26, 2011 Report Share Posted February 26, 2011 Sad to say, I have seen things like this, but not this itself. The ones like it spammed Threatening roar and other cards to cause the inability of the opponent to attack, then would stall using a similar tactic of summoning a card from the graveyard via it's effect and destroying it via another card effect (I've seen people summon their own monsters and then destroy them with their own cards), and then repeat once or twice more, end phase, Player B summons, sets backfield, ends, next turn, use heavy/MST/Trunade to remove opponents backfield, repeat turn one, End phase. Player B sets back field again, summons again, ends. Repeat turn three, and so on until around turn 5 when they'll spam things like Des Koala, Sparks, Ookazi, and so on in order to burn their Opponents LP, then they'll play something completely stupid and end and by that time, the judge calls time and Player A wins with no complaint from the judges or hear say of "hey you blighter, you were stall, I call foul on you for rogering the boogly!" and so on. If your cruel enough, or just plain bored enough, to try this and you have a judge who has taken his I dont give a verdammt pills then youll get away with it and make th opponents life a miserable one. The only time I've seen a judge call for Stall is when someone was dumb enough to try to do the same tactic for all three rounds of a match, or used it in multiple matches with no differential in gameplay. Then they usually will either say stalling or accuse you of cheating/topdeck shuffling. But, just dont do it... It's a very mean spirited thing to do. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted February 26, 2011 Report Share Posted February 26, 2011 This goes under the category of "unsportsmanship" to me. Just like the "Unity FTK". You are doing something unsportsmanlike to win the game or otherwise influence the match, and therefore it is not allowed. You would probably be disqualified for this procedure the minute you did it. So yes, this can be considered an F/OTK, but not a win for you. It's a win for your opponent. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super Yugi Go Posted March 1, 2011 Report Share Posted March 1, 2011 wtf is unity ftk? You can ftk with unity? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.