Jump to content

Mysteria's Advice [Grave lock][Self-Made Art]


Marco Polo

Recommended Posts

Could be broken, I don't know. let's hope not.

Yay! we locked the graveyard, now what?

 

Mysteria_s_Advice.jpg

➀Draw 1 card.

➁After the ➀ effect resolves, send this card to the Graveyard, then, neither player can activate a card or effect OR apply a game mechanic that would send cards to the Graveyard until the End Phase.

 

Yup.

Yup.

Yup.

So.. this card potentially assure a direct attack? anything else?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Blocking out game mechanics? This would elicit a bunch of rulings about things that we've taken for granted. What happens when someone tries to activate non-continuous cards? What happens if we try to destroy a monster by battle?

How will this interact with Macro Cosmos and pals?

1)it says you cant activate cards or apply game mechanics that would result in cards being sent to tge graveyard. I. E. Non-continuous s / t can't be activated, attacks cannot be declared (if they would resylt in monster destruction)

2)however,thinking of swords of revealing light being sent to the graveyard on it's own resolution is an interesting case. Though the card only restricts the players from activating cards or applying game mechanics, I assume swirds of revealing light only resolve on their own thus unaffected by this effect?

Macro cosmos doesn't result in cards being sent to the graveyard so I guess they can work parallel.

That certainly opens an interesting ruling problem that's worth discussing, nice find!
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Also another thing to note:

 

I have activated this card, and declare a direct attack due to the opponent having no monsters. They spring Call of the Haunted. I'm forced to replay. Due to replay mechanics, I'm simply re-assigning attack targets instead of declaring a new attack. What then?

"neither player can activate a card or effect OR apply a game mechanic that would send cards to the Graveyard" so a replay would occur yes which you can do because nothing is being sent to the graveyard at this time. So you cannot say yes to the re-attack because that would be illegal

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For a card to completely block out a very fundamental game mechanic severely restricts the amount of actions that can be taken. Sometimes these actions are not immediately evident - especially where Chains are involved - because at some point somewhere during resolution a card can go into the Graveyard, forcing players to pay excessive attention to these little things to avoid accidentally breaking the game state.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not a fan of the second effect. It is just too potent and conflictive with the rulings. Cards cannot be destroyed (not even by battle), you cannot activate non-Continuous Spell/Traps, discard, etc. Then it comes with a "draw 1 card effect", which turns it into some sort of Upstart+Cold Wave hybrid, and the latter is forbidden for a reason. Yes, it is not exactly as "Cold Wave" but it is still a lock effect.

 

I don't know, the card feels broken because it is a deck thinner that, at best enables you to perform certain plays safely, such as activating monster effects and Continuous S/Ts and Xyz Summoning, or, at worst is an slower Upstart that can be only used during the MP2 before ending your turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not a fan of the second effect. It is just too potent and conflictive with the rulings. Cards cannot be destroyed (not even by battle), you cannot activate non-Continuous Spell/Traps, discard, etc. Then it comes with a "draw 1 card effect", which turns it into some sort of Upstart+Cold Wave hybrid, and the latter is forbidden for a reason. Yes, it is not exactly as "Cold Wave" but it is still a lock effect.

 

I don't know, the card feels broken because it is a deck thinner that, at best enables you to perform certain plays safely, such as activating monster effects and Continuous S/Ts and Xyz Summoning, or, at worst is an slower Upstart that can be only used during the MP2 before ending your turn.

It's not cold wave. as it restricts basically any power play you'd use as well. unless you're on an open field, it should not aid you. maybe keep you safe. 

the thing I forgot about is that you can activate this at the end of your turn basically ignoring most drawbacks. 

so, that is to be changed. I'll force it to be activated only if no cards were sent to the Graveyard this turn. 

so I hope that fixes the thing.

I just noticed how ridiculous this would be in an Exodia deck. The pieces can't be discarded or destroyed in general. That is pretty broken. Also, just giving a free draw not only helps Exodia, but it is sorta weird to just slap onto this card's effect.

Taking into consideration how it was supposed to be (being activated only in case no cards were sent to the Graveyard this turn), how would you imagine this getting an exodia deck closer to it's point? 

you can only use 1. there are currently barely any cards that draw without addressing the graveyard at any point, so in case you would use this in an exodia deck, you'd draw 1 card, and then? the grave lock restricts you from using other draw cards that turn.

****obviously all of that only considering we add the part "You can only activate this card if no cards were sent to the Graveyard this turn". otherwise you're all right.

I'm sorry for that mistake, that's how it was thought of, that's what I imagined - though forgot to input this in the effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...