Blake Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15706&request_locale=ja tl;dr Igknights HAVE to kill both to search. praise bkss Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinkerer Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Hallelujah!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maeriberii Haan Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Have to kill both with its effect or have to have all of them popped on resolution? The former would make the cont trap pure crud and MST godly against igknights. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mshends Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Delibirb Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Oh well, goodbye key beetle. Still gonna be a good deck. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 [s]I was expecting them to mention Seraph Scepter/Sov[/s] They fixed Igknights, huh? That's... Interesting.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Good. It shouldn't have worked the Key Beetle route anyway, regardless of how Masked HERO Acid is worded similarly, I had a hunch that Igknights weren't supposed to work the same way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minato Sakai Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 i just realized that konami could make it work in the tcg just to promote igknights Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 i just realized that konami could make it work in the tcg just to promote igknights Unlikely. The TCG hasn't really been ruling cards differently from the OCG ever since PSCT. And it'll actually be EASIER to maintain this ruling in the TCG by simply stating to destroy both. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maeriberii Haan Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Hopefully tewart won't be that twatty and allow igknights to work that way in TCG when this hits. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nathanael D. Striker Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Hopefully tewart won't be that twatty and allow igknights to work that way in TCG when this hits. Considering he ruled that cards like Sangan get their effects from being detached before being overruled, that is a high hope. XD Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 I never really expected anything different. RIP Key Beetle. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AnnieShifter Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Great. I'm glad Konami ruled against the loop. The loop was very unfair and unhealthy. In reality, even without the loop, Igknights are still going to be a great deck. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Considering he ruled that cards like Sangan get their effects from being detached before being overruled, that is a high hope. XD To his defense, Xyz being a new mechanic left a lot of confusion. His REAL infamous screw-up was re-ruling Mirror Gate for kicks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 I forget what he did to Mirror Gate. What happened to that? OOoooooh Right. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 I forget what he did to Mirror Gate. What happened to that? OOoooooh Right. He decided that because Mirror Gate with PSCT says to revert control of "both" during the End Phase, that control was permanent if one of them could not be returned. Such as if one of them died during that battle. And it will. Because it's Mirror Gate. Thankfully, Mirror Gate is a terrible card so this had no impact. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slinky Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Unlikely. The TCG hasn't really been ruling cards differently from the OCG ever since PSCT. And it'll actually be EASIER to maintain this ruling in the TCG by simply stating to destroy both. Black Horn of Heaven. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CLG Klavier Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 My fucking god, Konami, I love you. Thank fucking God for this. Now Igknights won't be THIS stupid anymore. A bit stupid? Surely. But not to this degree. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonk Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 Thank the lord for his grace. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 How was there confusion in the effect? It clearly says "You can destroy both, and if you do". If the effect of Igknight Magnum did not destroy both, then it would not be able to apply the "Add 1 Fire Warrior-Type monster". Was this an issue with the TCG in some way? I still haven't played yugioh regularly in a few years, but I don't see how this could be misunderstood. Definitely not something to be called "BKSS" in any way, just TCG being TCG as usual, or so i'm assuming. Not sure how Mirror Gate is ruled, but just from reading the card, what should happen is that regardless of what which of the affected monsters are remaining, the other should still return to its owner at the End Phase. I assume this is another TCG thing to say it does otherwise. For example, Scrap Dragon also uses the term "both" and applies the destruction regardless of whether one of the targets no longer exists. The difference with Igknight Magnum is that the "and if you do" implies that Igknight Magnum did destroy both, otherwise, it cannot perform the last effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CLG Klavier Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 How was there confusion in the effect? It clearly says "You can destroy both, and if you do". If the effect of Igknight Magnum did not destroy both, then it would not be able to apply the "Add 1 Fire Warrior-Type monster". They were translated as "destroy ALL" at first, that's why we assumed they work like Acid does. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 They were translated as "destroy ALL" at first, that's why we assumed they work like Acid does. Oh I see. Thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 . Not sure how Mirror Gate is ruled, but just from reading the card, what should happen is that regardless of what which of the affected monsters are remaining, the other should still return to its owner at the End Phase. I assume this is another TCG thing to say it does otherwise. For example, Scrap Dragon also uses the term "both" and applies the destruction regardless of whether one of the targets no longer exists. The difference with Igknight Magnum is that the "and if you do" implies that Igknight Magnum did destroy both, otherwise, it cannot perform the last effect. It is. When PSCT debuted (so years ago), Tewart re-ruled Mirror Gate so that it now operates completely differently from how it had always worked in both TCG and OCG, purely because the text now said "both". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 It is. When PSCT debuted (so years ago), Tewart re-ruled Mirror Gate so that it now operates completely differently from how it had always worked in both TCG and OCG, purely because the text now said "both". Monster "control" is a different beast though, my friend. If the English Text is wrong, then PSCT can't do its job. Wish they would make a better attempt that keeping the rulings of both the same. Considering PSCT was introduced a few years ago, its probably overdue, although how many people play Mirror Gate anyway? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 25, 2015 Report Share Posted April 25, 2015 That's why I cite it as Tewart's biggest fail. Of course it shouldn't work that way, but because it's never been officially retracted, it's considered the official TCG ruling, despite that by now, PSCT has evolved to the point where these mistakes are very unlikely to happen. PSCT was young when it was made, but again... Though yeah, Mirror Gate is "better" with this ruling, but it's still an inferior card to numerous other options, which keeps the misruling isolated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.