newhat Posted October 6, 2012 Report Share Posted October 6, 2012 Can the effect of Swap Frog that returns monsters to the hand to allow extra Normal Summons be activated multiple times in the same turn? If so, can multiple extra Normal Summons be performed? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 6, 2012 Report Share Posted October 6, 2012 Can the effect of Swap Frog that returns monsters to the hand to allow extra Normal Summons be activated multiple times in the same turn? Swap Frog, as stated, can only be activated once per turn, but this is while it remains face-up on the field. If you have multiple Swap Frogs, they can each activate their effects. If one Swap Frog is set face-down/removed from the field and is later returned face-up on the field, then you can activate its effect again (as with any card who states "Once per turn" at the beginning of their effect text). If so, can multiple extra Normal Summons be performed? You can only get one additional Normal Summon/Set with this effect. The effect states "You can get 1 Normal Summon of a "Frog" monster in addition to your Normal Summon or Set." When you activate a second "Swap Frog" and think of trying to Normal Summon a second "Frog" monster for that effect, you're now attempting to "get 2 Normal Summons of a "Frog" monster in addition to your Normal Summon or Set", which is not within "Swap Frog's" power. You will only ever get 1 additional Normal Summon per turn with this effect, no matter how many Swap Frogs you activate. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 7, 2012 Report Share Posted October 7, 2012 Don't know if this has been asked before, but what happens if a "your opponent can only attack this monster" monster is on the field while you control a higher ATK monster and The Seal of Orichalcos? Example: You control Decoyroid, Steamroid, and the Seal of Orichalcos. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 7, 2012 Report Share Posted October 7, 2012 Don't know if this has been asked before, but what happens if a "your opponent can only attack this monster" monster is on the field while you control a higher ATK monster and The Seal of Orichalcos? Example: You control Decoyroid, Steamroid, and the Seal of Orichalcos. Didn't even notice they printed a real "The Seal of Orichalcos" card. "The Seal of Orichalcos" - While you control 2 or more face-up Attack Position monsters, your opponent cannot target your monster(s) with the lowest ATK for an attack. "Decoyroid" - While this card is face-up on your side of the field, your opponent cannot select a face-up monster as an attack target except "Decoyroid". "Decoyroid" is preventing your opponent from targeting "Steamroid". If "Decoyroid" is in face-up Attack Position and has the lowest ATK (since you only control these two monsters), then "The Seal of Orichalcos" is preventing your opponent from attacking "Decoyroid". Therefore, your opponent cannot declare an attack on either monster. Just think about what fits the conditions for each card to see what's protected or not. Say if I had a "Steamroid" in ATK, a "Decoyroid" in ATK with 800 ATK (via some card effect), and a "Decoyroid" in DEF with its original 300 ATK. The "Decoyroids" will still prevent the opponent from attacking the "Steamroid". "Decoyroids" do not prevent an opponent from attacking other "Decoyroids". In this scenario, the opponent will be able to attack the "Decoyroid" that had 800 ATK because it is not protected by either "The Seal of Orichalcos" nor "Decoyroid". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phantasy Dreamz Posted October 8, 2012 Report Share Posted October 8, 2012 If Imperial Oder is active on the field, and The Seal of Orichalcos is played.Imperial will negate it's effect but it'll still be active as the field.Does that last effect of The Seal of Orichalcos still prevent me from activating another The Seal of Orichalcos? "You can only activate 1 "The Seal of Orichalcos" once per Duel." Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 8, 2012 Report Share Posted October 8, 2012 If Imperial Oder is active on the field, and The Seal of Orichalcos is played.Imperial will negate it's effect but it'll still be active as the field.Does that last effect of The Seal of Orichalcos still prevent me from activating another The Seal of Orichalcos? "You can only activate 1 "The Seal of Orichalcos" once per Duel." Conditions are not effects and can never be negated. Imperial Order will not stop that. Even if the activation of "The Seal of Orichalcos" is negated, you will not be able to activate another one. The condition "You can only activate 1 <card> per Duel" gives you only one chance, no matter what happens. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Just Crouton Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 About Block Golem... "but their effects that activate on the field cannot be activated this turn." Can I still Tribute Gem-Knight Alexandrite to activate it's effect since it's no longer on the field? Can I still banish Gem-Knight Emerald to activate it's effect since it's no longer on the field? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 If I Veiler a Gemini monster, does it lose its Gemini Summon? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 About Block Golem... "but their effects that activate on the field cannot be activated this turn." Can I still Tribute Gem-Knight Alexandrite to activate it's effect since it's no longer on the field? Can I still banish Gem-Knight Emerald to activate it's effect since it's no longer on the field? Before you do anything in a card's text, you have to decide if you are activating its effect. If you can't activate its effect, then you cannot Tribute it for the cost of activating that effect. Both Gem-Knight Alexandrite and Gem-Knight Emerald are effects that activate on the field. You cannot activate either of them during the turn they are summoned by Block Golem. If I Veiler a Gemini monster, does it lose its Gemini Summon? No. If its already been Gemini Summoned, then it will continue to be treated as an Effect Monster while negated. It will have its effects and can still activate them even while negated. The only issue with negation they would have is that if they are treated as a Normal Monster and you negate them with something like Skill Drain, then they will lose their "This card is treated as a Normal Monster while on the field" effect, making them Effect Monsters (without their Gemini Effects), and they would not be able to be Gemini Summoned while negated by Skill Drain. Veiler doesn't apply to this of course since it can only target face-up Effect Monsters which a non-Gemini Summoned monster is treated as a Normal Monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 You would think since it's a subtype of monster it would be a condition, not an effect to be treated as a Normal Monster. Then again, the Spirits returning to the hand aren't conditions either, though they do have the no Special Summon condition. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 You would think since it's a subtype of monster it would be a condition, not an effect to be treated as a Normal Monster. Then again, the Spirits returning to the hand aren't conditions either, though they do have the no Special Summon condition. Anything written on an Effect Monster's text is an Effect (unless its a condition of some sort :D) Nothing is built into a card type, not even Geminis or Spirits. If it were built into Geminis or Spirits, it would be a game mechanic and not written on the cards (much like how Tuners are). You understand how Tuners work due to the Game Rules telling you that what you can do with them, and hence why it doesn't say anything on the cards themselves. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 I thought I made this question before, but I cannot find it in the thread. If I happen to be repeating it, I apologize beforehand. I control 2 monsters and 1 face-down "Starlight Road" from the previous turn, while my opponent has "Forbidden Lance" face-down. I activate Dark Hole, my opponent doesn't respond, then I chain "Starlight Road" to attempt to negate my "Dark Hole" and Summon an Stardust, but my opponent responds by chaining his/her "Forbidden Lance", targeting 1 of my monsters. The question is: Is the effect of "Starlight Road" somehow lost because "Dark Hole" wouldn't no longer be destroying 2 or more monsters? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 I thought I made this question before, but I cannot find it in the thread. If I happen to be repeating it, I apologize beforehand. I control 2 monsters and 1 face-down "Starlight Road" from the previous turn, while my opponent has "Forbidden Lance" face-down. I activate Dark Hole, my opponent doesn't respond, then I chain "Starlight Road" to attempt to negate my "Dark Hole" and Summon an Stardust, but my opponent responds by chaining his/her "Forbidden Lance", targeting 1 of my monsters. The question is: Is the effect of "Starlight Road" somehow lost because "Dark Hole" wouldn't no longer be destroying 2 or more monsters? No. "Would destroy 2 cards you control" is a condition to activate the card, not to resolve it. It doesn't matter what happens to the two or more cards that "would be destroyed". Starlight Road will negate the card and destroy it. In a similar situation, even if "Forbidden Lance" was affecting one of your monsters and then you used Dark Hole, you can still use Starlight Road even if Dark Hole wouldn't have been destroying one of your monsters at its activation. The idea is that its still possible for that monster to "be destroyed", and Dark Hole will still attempt to "destroy" that monster affected by Forbidden Lance. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 Card Trooper Mills Gem-Knight Lazuli + a Vanilla Monster. Does Lazuli activate? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 Card Trooper Mills Gem-Knight Lazuli + a Vanilla Monster. Does Lazuli activate? No, because Card Trooper's mill is a Cost and not a Card Effect. Lazuli must be sent via a card effect. In the hypothetical situation that it were an effect (or assuming they were milled by something like a Lightsworn's mill Trigger during the End Phase), then its a matter of there being a Normal Monster in the Graveyard at the timing of when Lazuli would activate. The answer to that would be Yes if that were the case. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 Thats really upsetting. I have been getting away with doing that dozens of times before this :( Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zazubat Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 A Gemini monster that has been Special Summoned (monster reborn, call of the haunted) can it be Gemini Summoned the same turn, or do you have to wait? I am wondering this, since I don't know if I should write that it can't be Gemini summoned this turn, or if it can't be in general after being Special Summoned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 A Gemini monster that has been Special Summoned (monster reborn, call of the haunted) can it be Gemini Summoned the same turn, or do you have to wait? I am wondering this, since I don't know if I should write that it can't be Gemini summoned this turn, or if it can't be in general after being Special Summoned. If you can still Normal Summon a monster, then you can Gemini Summon it. It does not matter if it was Special Summoned the same turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 If I attack with Don Zaloog while my opponent has 1 card in hand, what will happen if the card is Gorz? Gorz's discard, or Gorz's Summon? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 If I attack with Don Zaloog while my opponent has 1 card in hand, what will happen if the card is Gorz?Gorz's discard, or Gorz's Summon?Annoyingly, Gorz gets to go off first. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 If I attack with Don Zaloog while my opponent has 1 card in hand, what will happen if the card is Gorz?Gorz's discard, or Gorz's Summon?I believe it works like Spirit Reaper. Since the effects activate in the same window, Don Zaloog will trigger as Chain Link 1, whilst the opponent can then place Gorz on the chain as Link 2.So, Gorz will be summoned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 If I attack with Don Zaloog while my opponent has 1 card in hand, what will happen if the card is Gorz?Gorz's discard, or Gorz's Summon? Both Don Zaloog and Gorz are Trigger Effects. Both activate when Battle Damage is given/taken. You build a chain. Chain Link #1: Don Zaloog (activating effect to Discard)Chain Link #2: Gorz Resolving... Chain Link #2: Gorz is Special Summoned.Chain Link #1: Don Zaloog discards 1 random card in the opponent's hand. If there are no cards left, then nothing is discarded. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zazubat Posted October 15, 2012 Report Share Posted October 15, 2012 If you can still Normal Summon a monster, then you can Gemini Summon it. It does not matter if it was Special Summoned the same turn. That's what I figured would make most sense, thanks for the heads up. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.A._Sakuyamon Posted October 16, 2012 Report Share Posted October 16, 2012 If my opp. has Macro or D. Fissure on the field and one of my Madolche's get destroyed. Will they be banished or returned to the deck? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted October 16, 2012 Report Share Posted October 16, 2012 Banished. They activate in the grave. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.