Mehmani Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Discuss stupid BKSS rulings and how they ruin everything. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Darkworlds Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master of Chaos™ Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 I know this may sound Silly but what does BKSS stand for? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Sacred Ninja Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 I know this may sound Silly but what does BKSS stand for? Because Konami Says So? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 BKSS= Because Konami Said So. In other words, rulings that only work a certain way because Konami ruled it to be so, despite evidence (or just logic) to the contrary. For example: Rampart Blaster, in the anime and based on the wording, can attack an opponent directly if it is in defense position, but will only deal half damage. The ruling on this, however, states that Rampart Blaster can only attack directly if the opponent can be attacked directly under normal circumstances, which contradicts the logic, practicality, and wording of the card. For this reason, Rampart Blaster is absolute trash. Dark Worlds make sense, though (assuming you're meaning "discard by effect" not, costs). That's not a BKSS ruling, that's just not making the archetype broken. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
byak Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Fairy Archer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Other frustrating victims are the Normal Traps that say things like "activate only when X is destroyed. Do Y", such as Rise of the Snake Deity, Soul Rope, Michizure, etc. Evidently, these cards cannot be used during the Damage Step, so they can only be used when a monster has been destroyed by an effect. Wouldn't it be much better if they STATED that? And cards like Hero Signal do specifically say "when a monster is destroyed in battle...", so those clearly can be used. Oh wait, Michizure CAN be used during the Damage Step, with no distinction between its effect and that of Soul Rope or Rise. It's inconsistent and makes the cards either horrible or confusing. As for Fairy Archer, that at least makes sense what their aim is, even if the ruling itself is bull. They didn't want the card abused in multiples, but also had to avoid the Hero Mask FTK. The ruling that the name change doesn't apply for its effect makes zero sense. They should have just worded the restriction better. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mehmani Posted August 1, 2010 Author Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Other frustrating victims are the Normal Traps that say things like "activate only when X is destroyed. Do Y", such as Rise of the Snake Deity, Soul Rope, Michizure, etc. Evidently, these cards cannot be used during the Damage Step, so they can only be used when a monster has been destroyed by an effect. Wouldn't it be much better if they STATED that? And cards like Hero Signal do specifically say "when a monster is destroyed in battle...", so those clearly can be used. Oh wait, Michizure CAN be used during the Damage Step, with no distinction between its effect and that of Soul Rope or Rise. It's inconsistent and makes the cards either horrible or confusing. As for Fairy Archer, that at least makes sense what their aim is, even if the ruling itself is bull. They didn't want the card abused in multiples, but also had to avoid the Hero Mask FTK. The ruling that the name change doesn't apply for its effect makes zero sense. They should have just worded the restriction better. That Hero Mask FTK is so fun. Stupid Konami. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Dark Worlds make sense, though (assuming you're meaning "discard by effect" not, costs). That's not a BKSS ruling, that's just not making the archetype broken.But Fableds are just as ridiculous as Dark Worlds, and they DO work with costs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 But Fableds are just as ridiculous as Dark Worlds, and they DO work with costs. Well, Fabled were made after Dark World, and after Dark World's rulings were decided on. They may have seen Fableds as being okay with costs, or as a superior version of Dark World. The sheer power in Dark World swarming made them too good to be used with costs in the game state they were released in. Fairy Archer FTK is "fun"? "I summon Fairy Archer and activate its effect. You take 400 damage per Light monster for 400 damage, but the effect of a 'Fairy Archer' can only be used once per turn. Next I activate Hero Mask, sending Elemental Hero Stratos from my deck, and treating Fairy Archer's name as Elemental Hero Stratos. Since it's name is no longer 'Fairy Archer', the restriction is gone. Now I activate 'Elemental Hero Stratos' effect, to deal 400 damage per Light monster on my field. Only one 'Fairy Archer' effect can be used a turn. Well, now I'll do that another 18 times for game! Huh? What do you mean that's bulls**t?" What part of that is fun, except for your opponent giving you a look that clearly reveals his or her desire to strangle you? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 There is also that Sniffus Ruling that it can be Special Summoned during the Damage Step contrary to other cards like Revival Rose. It sucks.Also, Dimension Explosion's "your opponent must be able to Special Summon at least 1 monster too" ruling... Looks like someone isn't paying their staff enough to make details in card wordings.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheTurtleOnceCalledGod Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 But Fableds are just as ridiculous as Dark Worlds, and they DO work with costs.Fableds revolve around being sent from the hand to the graveyard, while Dark Worlds revolve around being discarded by card effects, and not as the cost.Honestly, dark worlds would be too good if you could use their effects during costs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catterjune Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Fairy Archer effect should have just been phrased better. Secondly, Having 3x Fairy Archers on the field (and 5x light monsters) each going off once per turn wouldn't have even been all that harmful IMO, considering how long it takes you to get them all on the field. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Fableds revolve around being sent from the hand to the graveyard, while Dark Worlds revolve around being discarded by card effects, and not as the cost.Honestly, dark worlds would be too good if you could use their effects during costs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Unclean One: VK Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 DW and Fabled Meta. I would luv it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Fableds revolve around being sent from the hand to the graveyardI'm going to assume they only let Fableds work with costs is because a lot of them are worded like Dark Worlds, and almost all Fabled's effects require discarding at least 1 Fabled monster. Gawd, Konami needs to work on logic better. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 I'm going to assume they only let Fableds work with costs is because a lot of them are worded like Dark Worlds, and almost all Fabled's effects require discarding at least 1 Fabled monster. Gawd, Konami needs to work on logic better. The Fabled Cerburrel: When this card is discarded to the Graveyard' date=' Special Summon it.[/quote'] Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World: If this card is discarded from the hand to the Graveyard by a card effect, Special Summon it. [...] Yeah, they are totally worded like Dark Worlds. [/sarcasm]Man, I hate how the new quotes won't say who said what, at least for quotes not found on the website, unless I'm doing it wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Smeagle Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 The ruling that says Harpie Lady 1, Harpie Lady 2 and Harpie Lady 3 are all the same card. I had a killer deck that milled a bunch of Harpies to the graveyard, then equipped Phalanx Pike for lolatk. I had duels where I could pop a Phalanx Pike on any Harpie and it was literally Over 9000. Combine that with a Harpie Swarm and Harpie's Hunting Ground...you can guess how that works. But no, Konami has to go and ruin everything by saying you can only run 1 of each or 3 of 1, etc. Straight Harpies can't be meta, Because Konami Says So. I guess Blackwings are allowed to be freakishly broken because they aren't pretty. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mehmani Posted August 1, 2010 Author Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 The ruling that says Harpie Lady 1, Harpie Lady 2 and Harpie Lady 3 are all the same card. That ruling is probably the worst. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 There is also that Sniffus Ruling that it can be Special Summoned during the Damage Step contrary to other cards like Revival Rose. It sucks.Also, Dimension Explosion's "your opponent must be able to Special Summon at least 1 monster too" ruling... Looks like someone isn't paying their staff enough to make details in card wordings.... Snyffus' ruling is BKSS and needs to be reworded to allow its activation during the Damage Step. Dimension Explosion actually makes sense though since Special Summoning is not optional (it does not state "You can Special Summon up to 2", but it demands that you Special Summon, meaning you must summon at least one). I think BKSS is being used too loosely when it should really only apply to rulings that either don't make sense, especially due to precedence proving otherwise or due to special unique cases (say Warrior of Atlantis being able to pull out "A Legendary Ocean" even though it is ALWAYS considered to be named "Umi".) Either that or my definition is too strict :3c Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 The ruling that says Harpie Lady 1, Harpie Lady 2 and Harpie Lady 3 are all the same card. I had a killer deck that milled a bunch of Harpies to the graveyard, then equipped Phalanx Pike for lolatk. I had duels where I could pop a Phalanx Pike on any Harpie and it was literally Over 9000. Combine that with a Harpie Swarm and Harpie's Hunting Ground...you can guess how that works. But no, Konami has to go and ruin everything by saying you can only run 1 of each or 3 of 1, etc. Straight Harpies can't be meta, Because Konami Says So. I guess Blackwings are allowed to be freakishly broken because they aren't pretty. Ok... Harpies were not meant to be Skull Servants... Also, 6 Umi would probably mean more Levia Dragon Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Ok... Harpies were not meant to be Skull Servants... Also, 6 Umi would probably mean more Levia Dragon You think the meta would change if they had 6 Umis or 9 Harpies? Probably not, though it'd make me want to use a Harpie Lady deck much more though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Unclean One: VK Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Then Blakie's and my lil sis's Harpy decks are illegal then. WHAT THE f*** KONAMI? Seriously, now their starting to piss me off..... again. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dr. Cakey Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Ok... Harpies were not meant to be Skull Servants... Also, 6 Umi would probably mean more Levia DragonBecause Levia-Dragon is so broken? Are you worried about an ALO Meta? Besides, anyone competent probably wouldn't run the 3 actual Umi, seeing as it's so awful. Then Blakie's and my lil sis's Harpy decks are illegal then. WHAT THE f*** KONAMI? Seriously, now their starting to piss me off..... again.Wait, you didn't know about this? There was one version of Michizure that said on it: (This card can be activated during the Damage Step) or something like that. The whole idea of most cards not being able to be activated during the Damage Step really seems strange to me. Can anyone explain why that is? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flame Dragon Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Heres one I don't get. "Morphtronic Forcefield" cannot be Chained to "Smashing Ground"/"Fissure"/etc' date=' even if you only control "Morphtronic" monsters.[/quote'] I found this one out while I was playing WC10 and it still doesn't make sense. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.