Jump to content

Confusing Card Lores


Recommended Posts

What the title says. We're there any cards that just confused you and you couldn't make heads or tails out of it?

 

Personally, there were two cards that fit into this category for me: Gravekeeper's Vassal and Power Frame

 

GravekeepersVassal-DR1-EN-C-UE.jpg

 

The battle damage this card inflicts to your opponent's life points is treated as effect damage of this card.

 

PowerFrameTSHD-EN-SR-1E.png

 

When a face-up monster you control is targeted for an attack by a monster with a higher ATK: Target the attack target; negate that attack, and if you do, equip this card to that target. The equipped monster gains ATK equal to the difference between its ATK and the ATK of its attacker when this card resolves.

 

(seriously, tell me they didn't just add a bunch of extra "targets" and "attacks" to screw with you)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh god Snoww, the most needlessly complicated text there ever was or will be. Other than that, Ritual Beast effects are so long-winded whenever I came up against them on DN when they were most popular I'd just quit because I can't be bothered sitting there watching a 10 minute play that ends with one monster on the board.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Vassal is STILL confusing, even with the errata. I think it's literally the only card that treats its Battle Damage as Effect Damage.

 

Snoww does have the most comically confusing text I've ever seen, but it's not THAT bad if you know how Dark Worlds are supposed to function. I take it back, it IS that bad, but knowing how it's intended to function based on other Dark Worlds makes it almost comprehensible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The concept of Spear Cretin weirded me out as a kid.

 

To date, I think it might be the only monster that Special Sets anything, let alone from your Graveyard.

And your opponent can do it, too? What is this, I don't even . . .

 

Seriously: You have to flip it first, and then it has to go to the Graveyard (which calls into question whether you can activate it on battle destruction, and I can't remember the ruling), and then both players can bring back any one monster from their Graveyard, either in face-up Attack Position, or in face-down Defense Position.

 

WHY?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't remember names, but there are cards whose effect makes them change sides, and as they resolve that same effect they mention the opponent, but in a way that makes it a little confusing on if they mean you as the new technical opponent after it switched, or the opponent for where the effect started. I think effects like that should direct it as "this card's controller" or "the opponent of this card's controller" as it ends so that I can figure it out without asking...

 

Then I remember there's this one trap that Jack played in 5Ds that has the opponent choose if they wanna burn you or gain LP themselves, but is written in a way that if they didn't outright say in the reprint, you'd think it is the opponent getting the burn and you the +LP... or at least, there is a good possibility of confusion.

 

Enchanted Javelin's last reprint makes one think you can use it in response to your own attack.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A lot of confusing text you guys already mentions, i'll go with the simpler one:

 

AssaultModeActivate-CRMS-EN-C-UE.png

 

"Tribute 1 Synchro Monster. Special Summon 1 "/Assault Mode" monster whose name includes the Tributed monster's name from your Deck in Attack Position."

 

So, going by that text^ you can Tribute Synchro Monster anywhere? Like your opponent's field?

Yes ik you must Tribute 1 Synchro Monster you control, but the text doesn't mention whose field etc etc etc

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A lot of confusing text you guys already mentions, i'll go with the simpler one:

 

AssaultModeActivate-CRMS-EN-C-UE.png

 

"Tribute 1 Synchro Monster. Special Summon 1 "/Assault Mode" monster whose name includes the Tributed monster's name from your Deck in Attack Position."

 

So, going by that text^ you can Tribute Synchro Monster anywhere? Like your opponent's field?

Yes ik you must Tribute 1 Synchro Monster you control, but the text doesn't mention whose field etc etc etc

Well typically, unless specified otherwise, any effect that requires tributing is done on the owner's side of the field. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

"Darkness Approaches". The lore is not quite confusing itself, the resulting situation however is (at least in my opinion): face-down attack position monsters. Can they attack while face-down? If so are they changed face-up?

I also find the situation that card causes confusing.

 

But for that same reason, I want to test the card out, just for fun, on YGOPro or DevPro or something.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...